Minister for IP Jo Johnson resigns

9th Sep 2019

Minister for Intellectual Property Jo Johnson MP has resigned his post just weeks after taking on the role for a second time.

Jo Johnson speaking

Jo Johnson, brother of UK Prime Minister Boris, cited “unresolvable tension” between family loyalty and the national interest as his reason for stepping down.

He also announced in Tweet that he was stepping down as Member of Parliament for Orpington, the constituency he has represented since 2010. 

Mr Johnson was previously Minister for IP from 2016-2018. And most recently replaced Chris Skidmore MP in August 2019. 

Minister for IP formed part of a large brief for Mr Johnson as part of his role as Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation. 

Recent ministers for intellectual property: 

  • The Rt Hon Jo Johnson MP 2019
  • Chris Skidmore MP 2018-2019
  • Sam Gyimah MP 2018
  • The Rt Hon Jo Johnson MP 2016-2018
  • Baroness Neville-Rolfe 2014-2016
  • Viscount Younger of Leckie 2013-2014
  • The Rt Hon Lord Marland 2012- 2013
  • Baroness Wilcox 2010-2012