Insider: September 2020

1st Sep 2020

Our latest news and updates of interest.

plastic free

President’s Welcome

Our latest step reflects our times

Richard Goddard

Creating a sustainable future has never been more important. Glaciers in Greenland are melting faster than ever, and the window of opportunity to stop the Earth warming permanently is getting smaller each day.

And, while distressing and disruptive, the events of this year have given many of us the chance to slow down and get outdoors, to take in the nature that surrounds us – whether that’s a park in London or out in the countryside.

To contribute to a more sustainable future – and the future of our natural environment – I am pleased to say that from this issue onwards you will receive your CITMA Review in a biodegradable starch wrap. We will also continue to look at how we can minimise waste and promote recycling in the profession.

As I mentioned last issue, it is imperative that we move with the times and reflect current concerns. I’m proud to say that in this issue, not only do we have a six-page feature on environmental activists and their trade marks, but we also have a feature on unconscious bias in our society and what we can do to tackle it.

There is still much more for us to do, but I believe we are taking steps in the right direction, and we will continue to do so.

As you may have seen already, we are bringing you a virtual Autumn Conference this year, with technology that allows you to build your own avatar so you can interact with delegates in a whole new way.

Could this be the future of conferences? We will have to see. I hope to see you all there – virtually, of course. 

Our mail-out is now more planet-friendly

 

More from September's magazine

A call to action

Allister McManus issues an IP wake-up call to some well-known environmental activist groups.

1st Sep 2020

Game on!

It will be interesting to see how an unusual argument plays out, says Charlotte Wilding. [2020] EWHC 1439 (Ch), Manchester United Football Club Ltd v Sega Publishing Europe Ltd & Another, High Court, 4th June 2020

1st Sep 2020 | Case comment

Crossing the class divide

The trend for sin-free beverages is raising interesting questions for brand owners, Vanessa Harrow explains.

1st Sep 2020
Visit the CITMA Review hub

 

 

Until now, our default method of mailing CITMA Review to you has been to wrap it in plastic. From this month, protecting your copy is a starch-based biopolymer made from potato and maize starch.

We are pleased to let you know that it contains no plasticisers or toxins and, as a result, it is 100 per cent biodegradable and fully compostable.

Simply dispose of it in your household food or garden-waste bin or any compost heap.

The damaging effects of single-use plastic have been increasingly documented over the past few years. This is one small step forward for us protecting our planet.

Assessing our impact

1,450 – the average number of copies of each Review posted.

11.6kg of plastic per issue (8g per copy) ­– that’s how much we are saving by moving to a starch-based wrap.

That’s a saving equivalent to 21,000 plastic straws per issue.

Over one year, this represents a reduction of 93kg of plastic, equivalent to 168,000 plastic straws.

The power of AI

Artificial intellegence

The Legal Services Board has released a report that considers how artificial intelligence (AI) could better support, enable and potentially replace human judgments over the course of a trade mark’s lifecycle. On behalf of CITMA, Birgit Clark (Baker McKenzie) joined 10 leading names in legal technology and regulation to debate, discuss and dissect perspectives on lawtech. See citma.org.uk/powerofai

IPO proposes preliminary indication trial

Demand for the UK IPO’s tribunal service continues to grow, a trend that is likely to continue following the end of the Brexit transition period. To help meet future demand, the IPO has said it intends to reintroduce preliminary indications for a trial period of six months. See citma.org.uk/PIsatUKIPO

EUIPO joins DAS

The EUIPO has joined WIPO’s digital access service (DAS) for registered Community designs (RCDs). Applicants can now exchange RCD priority documents electronically through the DAS. See citma.org.uk/EUIPOjoinsDAS

More from September's magazine

A call to action

Allister McManus issues an IP wake-up call to some well-known environmental activist groups.

1st Sep 2020

Game on!

It will be interesting to see how an unusual argument plays out, says Charlotte Wilding. [2020] EWHC 1439 (Ch), Manchester United Football Club Ltd v Sega Publishing Europe Ltd & Another, High Court, 4th June 2020

1st Sep 2020 | Case comment

Crossing the class divide

The trend for sin-free beverages is raising interesting questions for brand owners, Vanessa Harrow explains.

1st Sep 2020
Visit the CITMA Review hub